top of page

Europe's largest micro-state

Andorra is Europe's largest micro-state. With a total area of 468 km2, it is also the sixth smallest country in Europe. In descending order, it is followed by Malta (316), Liechtenstein (160), San Marino (61.19), Monaco (2) and Vatican City (0.2). All of them enjoy full sovereignty and, in the case of the Principality of Andorra, have been independent since 1278.

With the exception of Malta, the micro-states do not belong to the European Union, although the current Andorran government has expressed its willingness to join the political community on several occasions. In fact, the association agreement is expected to be concluded by the end of 2023.


bottom of page